Sources of Information


Astral Body
The astral body (from Greek ἀστήρ ástēr = "star", literally astral body), also called Kama-Rupa in Indian-theosophical name, is one of the four fundamental members of the earthly embodied man. He is the fundamental bearer of consciousness, but not the self-consciousness that is given only by the ego. Through it, desires and sensations are experienced and thereby the independent movement of the body and the sensory perception are made possible. The astral body is male-female, ie hermaphroditic. Even animals have their own astral body. The name comes from the fact that it is of cosmic origin and was originally a soully image of the cosmic relationships, which is why Paracelsus also called it the sidereal man or Evestrum (the eternal substance of the sky). In fact, the instincts and the associated feelings of pleasure and displeasure, especially in animals, are related to the cosmic, but later increasingly internalized - as it were "lived-up" - day and season rhythms.
Causal Body
After the lapse of the time during which the etheric body together with the astral body is emerging from the physical body after death, there comes the moment when the astral body, with the higher members, leaves the etheric body. The latter separates off and the memory-tableau fades away; but something of it remains; it is not wholly lost. What may be called ether- or life-substance dissipates in the cosmic ether, but a kind of essence remains and this can never be lost to the human being through his further journeyings. He bears this with him into all his future incarnations as a kind of extract from the life-tableau, even though he has no remembrance of it. Out of this extract is formed what is called, with concrete reality, the "Causal Body".

After every incarnation a new page is added to the Book of Life. This augments the life-essence and, if the past lives were fruitful, causes the next life to develop in the proper way. This is what causes a life to be rich or poor in talents, qualities and the like.
Rudolf Steiner Archive & e.Lib
Planet Sounds
Planet sounds are sounds whose frequency is calculated on the basis of rotation or orbital times of planets of the solar system oktavanalog (sonification). The study of them is based on the desire of some music theorists to obtain a sound system based on astronomical periodic processes. Such aspirations are ultimately based on a number-oriented cosmic harmony and order thinking, which is already found among the Pythagoreans, Plato and Aristotle, and which is continued in Christian creation thinking ("God has arranged everything well").

The tones calculated from the data of the earth are generally also assigned to the planetary tones. The pitch (frequency) is determined by successively doubling (octaving) the astronomically determined rotational or orbital frequencies until a frequency range which is audible to the human ear is reached. The sounds are used in the western esoteric scene.

Sidereal Planet Cycles
Planet Orbital Period Key Tone Hz Octaves Planet Sound Hz
Mercury 2111,3 131,57·10−9 30 141,27
Venus 5392,8 51,51·10−9 32 221,23
Earth 8766,2 31,69·10−9 32 136,10
Mars 16488 16,85·10−9 33 144,72
Jupiter 103982,1 2,67·10−9 36 183,58
Saturn 258221 1,08·10−9 37 147,85
Uranus 736462 3,77·10−10 39 207,36
Neptune 1444503 1,92·10−10 40 211,44
Pluto 2177573 1,28·10−10 40 140,25